Friday Playlist: 4/15/2011

Lately, I’ve been really into the song “My Body” by Young the Giant.  And after listening to it on the radio a couple of weeks ago, I heard the dj say they recorded a cover of Adele’s “Rolling In The Deep” and I just had to check it out. I mean really, who doesn’t just love that song?

I went on YouTube to find it (I also checked out Cage the Elephant’s cover, which changes up the song a little and is definitely worth a listen too) and am really glad I did.  The cover itself is pretty good, though it doesn’t stray too far from the original.  Lead singer Sameer Gadhia has himself a strong soulful voice, but it’s the harmonies in the pre-chorus and the backing vocals in the chorus that really make it work for me.

But mostly I’m happy because it led me to watch one of the recommended videos, an awesome live version of their song “Strings.”  After the video, I fell in love with the song.  I headed over to iTunes and downloaded their entire debut cd.  Check out the awesome version of their song, “Strings”, here:

                

Young the Giant Self-titled

  1. Apartment
  2. My Body
  3. I Got
  4. Cough Syrup
  5. God Made Man
  6. 12 Fingers
  7. Strings
  8. Your Side
  9. Garands
  10. St. Walker
  11. Islands
  12. Guns Out
Leave a Reply

