Classic Reads

heartbooks

As I mentioned earlier in the week, one of my favorite winter activities is curling up with a good book. There’s nothing quite like getting lost in another world for a bit, and, for me at least, novels always cause me to feel a closer attachment to characters and places than any television series ever can. So much so, that some tales I can read over and over again without them ever feeling stale or boring. Here, in no particular order, are my top 10 go-to novels.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery While this list isn’t in order, this book is probably my favorite of all time. It’s written for children, but I think it transcends that category into just being a beautiful story for anyone.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald Besides the infamous love story, the best part of Gatsby for me is Fitzgerald’s ability to make the roaring 20’s come to life on paper.

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll I loved this since I was a child. It’s such a fantastical little world that’s such a pleasure to visit every once in a while.

Harry Potter 1-7 by J. K. Rowling Seriously, any one of them at any time. I can just get lost in them.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro This story is truly heartbreaking. I always love reading about the characters making everyday discoveries and living their lives regardless of their futures.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck My initial re-reading of this occurred because I honestly needed another go to fully grasp it at the time. Now when I revisit it, it’s just to read a great view on life, family, and love – good or bad.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho This is magically thought-provoking, with a tiny bit of self-helpyness thrown in, but sometimes that’s needed.

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen I have just two words: Mr. Darcy.

Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury Sometimes I really love the stories about nothing besides the mundane and exciting occurrences of everyday life. This book reads like summer.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy The beautiful prose alone is worth coming back for more, but so is the post-apocalyptic story.

Leave a Reply

